Skip to content

Entry March 01, 2007

March 1, 2007

News war

In the table topic of the Toastmaster meeting yesterday, a question was brought up about the program on TV the night before: News War. Mr Anon briefly highlighted three main points of the program:

– The transformation of news media: people under 50’s mostly use the Internet instead of printed newspaper.

– The span of attention among numerous sources of news, promoted by benefits from advertisements.

– The truthfulness of news.

That’s is true.

I looked at few books on working skills but in short I found this article very helpful:

Bits: Ten Things That Work For Me In Managing Projects And Priorities
Michael Angier

Source

I’m often asked what keeps me focused and on track toward my objectives.
People want to know what works. They want to know my “secret weapons”
for juggling many projects and priorities. The truth is there’s no one
way that works for everyone. We each have our own style and our own
strengths and weaknesses. What works for one may not work for another.

Nonetheless, here are ten things that work for me. When I find
myself being less productive than I’d like, I look at which of these
things I might not be doing as well or as consistently as I might.

  1. Clear, Written Goals
  2. I write my goals down and I keep them in front of me. I pay
    particular attention to my top three—the three most important things
    I’m in the process of accomplishing. Clarity leads to power and having
    clear, written goals keeps me better focused.

  3. A Projects Book
  4. I keep a three-ring binder with a numbered tab for each project.
    Within each section, I have task lists, notes about resources and ideas
    on completing these projects.

    Then, I break my projects down into action plans. Most people have
    to-do lists, and so do I, but I divide my list into critical,
    imperative and important. I use A, B and C and do my best to put my
    attention on them in this order. A’s must be done and are
    time-sensitive. B’s should be done or must be done, but are not so
    time-critical. C’s are nice to do, I’d like to do them, but they just
    aren’t critical or essential.

    As best I can, I schedule the time to work on the A’s. I set them up
    as an appointment and that way there’s less chance that they will slip
    and not get done on time.

  5. Time Away
  6. I don’t yet practice this as well as I would like, but I know it
    works when I do, and I’m getting better at it. We need breaks. Extended
    ones (at least a week or ten days), intermediate ones (long weekends)
    and short ones (breaks in the day). Remember, it’s the space between
    the notes that makes the music. Be sure to create some spaces in your
    day, your month, your year and your life.

    Most, if not all, of the great leaders and achievers spent time
    away—quiet time, contemplative time, meditation time and renewal
    time. Without it they would not have been able to accomplish what they
    did. Why should we be any different?

  7. Master Mind
  8. I meet almost every week with my Success Team. Two of them live on
    the west coast and the other in the Midwest. We meet by conference call
    and talk about our goals and projects, what’s working, what’s not
    working and how we can make better progress. I wouldn’t be without this
    valuable support.

    We meet for an hour and divvy up the time between the members on the
    call. In addition, we correspond via email as the need arises.

  9. Service First—Profits Second
  10. It’s not always easy to do, but it’s imperative to put the focus on
    giving the customer or client what they want. If I’m thinking about
    what I can do for our members instead of what I can gain, things work.
    It just goes to prove that you can get anything you want if you help
    enough other people get what they want.

    By keeping the focus on where it belongs—creating value—instead
    of on what I want to get out of it, I make progress—and it’s progress
    that lasts.

  11. Keep Peak Times Sacred
  12. We all have times of the day when we are at our best, for me, it’s
    the morning. For you it might be the afternoon or late night. I
    schedule my most important projects for the AM. For my less-productive
    times, I schedule tasks that don’t require as much creativity,
    brainpower or motivation.

  13. Journaling
  14. I keep my journal on my computer and also in a 3-ring binder so I
    can punch and add pages as needed. It’s a scrapbook as well as a place
    to record my thoughts and ideas.

    It’s insightful and inspiring for me to review my journals from
    previous years. It’s amazing to see the difference in perspective from
    years past as well as observe the progress that’s been made.

  15. Exercise
  16. We all need exercise. Our bodies need to be active in order for our
    minds to work properly. When I skip my workouts my work suffers. When I
    do what’s good for me good things happen to me. I now look at the time
    taken in working out as an investment in my productivity rather than
    taking time away from my productivity.

  17. Reading Good Books and Listening to Good Tapes
  18. My mind, my creativity and my motivation are stimulated by reading
    inspiring stories, listening to good ideas and learning about why and
    how great men and women have lived and triumphed.

    I read with a tape recorder or a note pad because I want to
    chronicle the ideas I discover and what I think about as a result of
    what I read.

  19. Asking Questions
  20. I believe that questions are the answers. When I ask others
    questions, I learn. When I ask myself questions, I have to think and
    research, I learn even more. Of course, we can’t learn less.

The quality of our lives is closely related to the quality of our questions.

Author’s Note: Of course, nothing can take the place of having
objectives about which you feel passionate. With strong reasons,
compelling beliefs and deep-seated faith, one can accomplish seemingly
impossible things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2008 12:47 am

    Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. Entry for February 4, 2008 « New bits on the blog

Leave a Reply

