Skip to content

“An evening with Maya Angelou” at Missouri-Columbia

April 15, 2011

Before Hoa left for her Chicago, as a surprise, she bought me a ticket to see Ma…ya Angelou on Thursday evening🙂 Thank you, Hoa!

So there I went, seeing one of the greatest American poet of our times. The curtain drawn out and before me was Maya Angelou. She was tall !

Mrs. Angelou shared her life stories, inspiration and encouragement. To it all, I saw that she is pretty strong in character and in health, too🙂

She was 83! And she is active and updates her facebook page by herself🙂 Wow!

One of her favorite quote is: “I am a human being, nothing human can be alien to me”. She encourages everybody to think and internalize that saying. I found one of her quote on this:

“I am a human being, nothing human can be alien to me…

“If a human being dreams a great dream, dares to love somebody; if a human being dares to be Martin King, or Mahatma Gandhi, or Mother Theresa, or Malcolm X; if a human being dares to be bigger than the condition into which she or he was born—it means so can you. And so you can try to stretch, stretch, stretch yourself so you can internalize, ‘Homo sum, humani nil a me alienum puto. I am a human being, nothing human can be alien to me.’ That’s one thing I’m learning.”

– Dr. Maya Angelou

At the end, she recites her poem “A brave and startling truth” for the audience.

Maya Angelou reciting a poem

Sharing stories

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

